top of page

Such an honour to be selected by Betsy Warland for the 2016 Mayor's Arts Award


Photo by: Tim Matheson

What a year it has been. So many readings, panels etc. The most exciting thing about 2016 was being selected by Betsy Warland as the emerging literary artist for the 2016 Mayor's Arts Awards. I hold my hands up to Betsy for her gentle guidance. I feel so happy to see her honoured in this way. Betsy has been a dear friend and mentor for nearly ten years now. Her work in the literary community has been pivotal in the writing careers of so many. She is the creator and founder of the Simon Fraser University's (SFU) Writer's Studio where I first met her. Her writing and her teaching has touched many lives. I am grateful to know her.

2017 should be interesting as well. I will be Betsy's apprentice at the SFU Writer's Studio. Such an honour to work with her in this way.

Jónína Photo Credit: Tim Matheson

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page